Quechup spam/scam alert–pass it on

September 6, 2007 at 9:43 am 3 comments

If you get any invites from Quechup, delete them immediately.

If you haven’t already heard ( see here, here, here, or just google quechup) Quechup is, well, rotten.

Although apparently a legit social networking site, if you join they prompt you with one of those, “hey, want to know which of your friends are already on Quechup?” pitches, and ask for your permission to search your online address book (if you have one.) That’s where it all goes south…

Quechup then searches your address book and…wait for it… SENDS AN INVITE IN YOUR NAME TO EVERY EMAIL IN YOUR ADDRESS BOOK.

Hey marketing geniuses at Quechup, can I ask you a question? In what universe would this tactic be successful and not, oh, say, be the ruin of your company? I’m guessing it’s a universe where people say ‘goodbye’ when they enter the room, and ‘hello’ when they leave it. (Hello Quechup!!)

About these ads

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: .

Happy Blog Day 2007! 2007 Summer Reading Program… in Review

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Diana  |  September 6, 2007 at 9:29 am

    Actually just had an invite in my mailbox this morning. Thank you for the heads up!

    Reply
  • 2. Lazygal  |  September 6, 2007 at 9:02 pm

    I have one account I use for spam, and an invite was there. There is no outgoing mail from that account, so nothing for them to latch on to… poor Quechup

    Reply
  • 3. Marie L. Radford  |  September 7, 2007 at 12:15 pm

    We’ve had a head’s up at Rutgers about this yesterday, is a particularly nasty one.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Creative Commons

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 United States License.
Disclaimer: The thoughts expressed on this blog are those of the authors and are not intended to reflect the views of our employers.

A Note on the history of posts

Please note that all Library Garden posts dated earlier than September 13,2009 originally appeared on our Blogger site. These posts have been imported to this site as a convenience when searching the entire site for content.

If you are interested in seeing the original post, with formatting and comments in tact, please bring up the original post at our old Blogger site.

Thanks for reading Library Garden!

wordpress
visitors

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 29 other followers

%d bloggers like this: